How to deactivate the location of photos on a smartphone
Location tags on images can help users remember where they took some photos. This way, your friends will be able to easily see what you have done during your vacation in each of the places you have been. However,...
Location tags on images can help users remember where they took some photos. This way, your friends will be able to easily see what you have done during your vacation in each of the places you have been. However, having location enabled on the photos you take with your phone is not secure.
Most people prefer to keep their posts private. For this reason, many configure social media accounts in such a way that permission is given to who can see the publications and who cannot. However, there are people who do not bother to take a look at the settings of the photos they take with their device. In other words, your phone could be tagging your location automatically. Why is this a problem and how can we disable it?
The risks involved in location in photos
Since they gave us the ability to automatically add the location to our photos, security experts warned of the risks that this entails. To start, your location will be shared with other people. And our devices do many things that we are not aware of.
Most people wouldn't take a photo at home to share. indicating its exact location. In the most extreme cases, this has served to find some fugitives, and although for many people this should not be a problem, what it shows is that valuable information can be obtained through locating the photos.
For example, it is likely that if you go on vacation you will take some photos. You can share them while you are away, but those who come to see your social networks will not be aware that you are publishing that content from abroad. On the other hand, if you have location enabled, they will know. Something that also gives clues to thieves that you are not at home.
If you want no one to know where you are, it is best to disable geolocation on your device. Sometimes it can be difficult to find the button that deactivates it, so we are going to see how to do it on the main smartphones.
Disable location tracking on a BlackBerry
If you have a BlackBerry you will be pleased to know that disabling photo location is relatively easy. On most devices, They seem to be disabled automatically., but it is best to make sure through a few simple steps.
For version 10.3.1 you will have to start by opening the camera. From there you can go to the settings and disable "Photo Location". If it is not there, you will need to look for where on the mobile phone location is enabled. But don't worry, because it's easy to find. You will have to open the camera application and deactivate location by clicking on the icon.
As you can see, it is quite simple to do and really reassuring when it comes to security. If in the future you want to re-enable this feature on your device, we recommend reading a little about the location on your Blackberry.
Disable location in photos taken with Android
Those who have Android devices will notice that depending on the version of the operating system their device has, the button to disable location could be found in different places.
Besides, setting name may change. In previous versions, the option was called "store location" or "location tag." So if you can't find the word "Geotag" or a location symbol, then you'll have to take a look to find these settings.
For added security, you can disable location in all applications of your device. To do this, go to the settings, scroll to "personal" and select "location". If you click on the tab, you will prevent the location from being sent to any of the applications, unless you manually activate it again.
Prevent the location of your photos on Windows Phone
Finding the option to turn location tracking on or off is more complicated for Windows Phone users. Unlike BlackBerry and Android devices, turning off this option is not as easy as opening the camera. This will take you a little longer.
To start, you will have to go to the settings. Once there, scroll to "applications" and select "photos and camera". When you find this setting, you will see that there are more options such as "include location in photos" or "include GPS in images."
This option is usually found in fourth position from the top and by clicking on the box, you will disable the option and prevent your Windows Phone from adding the location to the photos you take from your mobile.
How to stop sharing location in photos on an iPhone
Those from Cupertino usually change the location of this function very frequently, depending on the version of the operating system that is installed on your iPhone. This adds difficulty when finding the option that disables localization.
There are many ways to find it. If you have an older phone, go to the general settings and once there, you can find the location option and disable it.
On the other hand, don't worry if you've looked in general settings and haven't found the location sharing function in photos. It simply must be somewhere else. Instead of going to general settings, scroll to the "privacy" option. At the top of the menu, you will see "location". From there you can deactivate it for all applications that use your location or select which ones to share your location with.
Other ways to protect your phone
You will take a weight off your shoulders when you deactivate location tracking on your mobile phone. And it is a function that provides a lot of personal information, such as where you live, where you work or the places where you usually move. Unfortunately, this information can be used against you.
Therefore, to have peace of mind, we recommend deactivating location tracking and carrying out other forms of protect your smartphone. There are many ways to use a mobile device safely, so take steps to increase the security of your mobile phone.
Need Help Applying This?
If this topic relates to your environment, we can scope the right engagement model and provide a clear plan with evidence-focused outcomes.